COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON CONFERENCE ROOM SPECIAL MEETING

MONDAY 10:00 A.M. APRIL 17, 2023

Board members present: Chairman Cory Wright, Vice Chairman Brett Wachsmith, and Commissioner Laura Osiadacz.

Others: Julie Kjorsvik, Clerk of the Board; Amy McGuffin, Chief Executive Officer, Kittitas County Chamber of Commerce; Margaret Reich, Director of Centerfuse.

SPECIAL MEETING

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

COMMISSIONERS

At 10:00 a.m. Chairman Wright opened a Special Meeting to receive a quarterly update from the Kittitas County Chamber of Commerce.

Amy McGuffin, Kittitas County Chamber of Commerce Chief Executive Officer, provided an update on the first quarter which included recruitment and marketing activities; business retention and expansion activities; business assistance including start-ups; readiness and capacity/asset building. She also provided a handout on the Washington SBDC & Associate Development Organizations Partnership County Activity and Impact report. The Chamber of Commerce was able to assist seven businesses in obtaining grants in the total amount of \$600,000.00 for natural disaster relief.

There was discussion on the difficulty of having neighboring states who are able to incentivize businesses and Washington is not allowed to do that so it's hard to compete. Many businesses are leaving the state because of the restrictions and new legislation. Ms. McGuffin thanked the Board for the opportunity for her to provide updates to COG as it's helpful for collaboration between everyone. She provided a draft economic report and asked if the Board could review it and provide her with feedback.

Chairman Wright expressed his frustration of not having clear duties defined between the different agencies including the ADO, Centerfuse, and municipalities. He said although it's been challenging for everyone involved, everyone has strengths and good intentions, but needed to clarify roles. He said he would bring up the topic for discussion with COG.



Meeting adjourned at 11:01 a.m.

CLERK OF THE BOARD

Julie Kiorsvik

KITTITAS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Cory Wright, Chairman