COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON WEBEX SPECIAL MEETING

TUESDAY

2:00 P.M. NOVEMBER 17, 2020

Board members present via WebEx: Chairman Brett Wachsmith, Vice-Chairman Laura Osiadacz and Commissioner Cory Wright.

Others present via WebEx: Julie Kjorsvik, Clerk of the Board; Mandy Buchholz, Deputy Clerk of the Board II; Mark Cook, Public Works Director; and Joshua Frederick, Engineer.

Kittitas County is currently in Phase 3 and in person participation is prohibited. The public was encouraged to join the meeting by joining a WebEx event online.

PUBLIC HEARING THRALL ROAD SPEED LIMIT PUBLIC WORKS

At 2:00 p.m. **CHAIRMAN WACHSMITH** opened a Public Hearing to consider a speed reduction on Thrall Road and to Amendment Kittitas County Code Chapter 10.08.020 Speed Limits.

JOSHUA FREDRICKSON, ENGINEER reviewed a Staff Report. He explained how they received a request to lower the speed limit on Thrall Road between No. 6 Road and Moe Road from MP 0.05 to MP 1.10. The Public Works Department set speed counters out for a one-week period in addition they dispatched Staff to evaluate vertical and horizontal curves in the road segment for conformance to national design standards. The crash data collected did not correlate to the posted speed since 2015. After consideration and collection of data, Staff's recommendation was to maintain the existing 50 miles per hour speed limit on Thrall Road MP 0.05 to MP 1.10.

THERE BEING NO PUBLIC IN ATTENDANCE REQUESTING TO TESTIFY, THE PUBLIC PORTION OF THE HEARING WAS CLOSED.

COMMISSIONER WRIGHT moved to deny the petition and to maintain the current speed limit of 50 MPH on Thrall Road from MP 0.05 to MP 1.10. **CHAIRMAN WACHSMITH** seconded. Motion carried 3-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m.

CLERK -OF THE BOARD

Julie Kyorsvik

11/17/2020 MINUTES

KITTITAS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTITAS, COUNTY, WASHINGTON ~

Brett Wachsmith, Chairman