COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON COMMISSIONERS CONFERENCE ROOM SPECIAL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 2:00 P.M. JANUARY 2, 2019

Board members present: Chairman Cory Wright; Vice-Chairman Brett Wachsmith & Commissioner Laura Osiadacz.

Others: Mandy Buchholz, Deputy Clerk of the Board II and two members of the public.

SPECIAL MEETING

DEPARTMENT HEAD MERIT

COMMISSIONERS

At 2:00 p.m. Chairman Wright opened a Special Meeting to consider 2019 merit increases for Department Heads.

At 2:04 p.m. Chairman Wright announced the Board would recess into Executive Session 20 minutes to evaluate the qualifications of an applicant for public employment or to review the performance of a public employee. However, subject to RCW 42.30.140 (4), discussion by a governing body of salaries, wages, and other conditions of employment to be generally applied within the agency shall occur in a meeting open to the public, and when a governing body elects to take final action hiring, setting the salary of an individual employee or class of employees, or discharging or disciplining an employee, that action shall be taken in a meeting open to the public. Action was anticipated.

At 2:24 p.m. the Board reconvened out of Executive Session.

The Board directed Staff to prepare Personnel Action Forms for a 3% merit increase for the following employees, effective January 1, 2019, Lisa Young, Human Resource Director; Jim Goeben, IT Director; Julie Kjorsvik, Clerk of the Board; Dan Carlson, CDS Director; Patti Johnson, Solid Waste Director; Tim Egan, Facilities Maintenance Director; Tristen Lamb, Public Health Admin., and Mark Cook, Public Works Director.

Commissioner Osiadacz stated that this is consistent with what the Board approved during their 2019 budget process.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:24 p.m.

DEPUTY CLERK OF THE BOARD

01/02/2019 MINUTES

KITTITAS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

1

Cory Wright, Chairman